Pre-Trial Drama Conference: Hwarang

The drama, Hwarang, is called to a Pre-Trial Drama Conference before Jubiemon and RedRosette JJ.

***If this is your first time browsing the Drama Files, please read The Rules on how a Pre-Trial Drama Conference works***

Issue: Whether or not this drama requires a trial at the dramacourt?

[We watched this trailer and we’re predicting what will happen]

Hwarang Trailer – If you haven’t seen it yet.

13

RR: So this trailer literally just came out. Right?

J: Found it on YouTube, recommended for me. Wonder what that says about me.

RR: LOL! I mean V is in it so…..

J: I did watch all the behind the scenes for Hwarang. My hopes aren’t very high for this drama. 20 episodes, six men and one woman. How are you supposed to develop characters in that short amount of time?

RR: Sounds awfully familiar doesn’t it?

J: *Cough* Scarlet Heart Ryeo without time travelling *Cough*

RR: I purposely refused to watch any behind the scenes promos for this reason. I was so afraid I was going to see glimpses of Scarlet Heart Ryeo…..And I did and so far it looks like it’s facing the same problems. 

J: In terms of the trailer and the posters, I find that the costumes are horrendous and make the guys look really bad. These guys are good-looking. V could pull off wearing a toque that made him look bald, but these wigs . . .

RR: I’m sorry but is the costume department a bunch of toddlers? The hair looks like a toddler put it together! It’s so starched! So fake!!!!!

12
Everyone looks so washed out -_-

J: And the bold colours that they choose for the boys’ individual costumes and team uniforms are atrocious. They don’t really match the boys’ undertone. Plus, they make the guys look very feminine. I’m pretty sure we weren’t going the gender bender route. I was really getting some BL vibes.

RR: Oh come on, that poster where that one guy basically looked more feminine than one of the other female leads…it’s happening….And yes those colours are hideous. I don’t approve.

J: Even the colours they chose for Go Ara didn’t really match her at all. I don’t know what’s going on with the costumes. Maybe these colours were common during that period of time? Eh.

6
Who is to blame for this awful colour scheme?

RR: Honestly, it’s just a shitty colour scheme regardless of the time period. Who looks good in neon (ish) turquoise? Seriously? And was Go Ara even in this trailer? I totally didn’t even notice.

J: My God. You’re right! I forgot about her existence. Even in the poster, she wasn’t in that right? I just remember smiling boys and a piggyback. I actually wouldn’t mind if they did a 180 and made this into a BL drama. That’d be more interesting in a way. Gives more of a shock factor.

RR: LOL! Honestly, I agree with that too. The entire promotional content so far seems to suggest that. Go Ara isn’t even on the main poster that they released. And more than Go Ara, I got super excited when Sung Dong Il showed up in the trailer! That guy is heaps funny!

4
This guy is totally dope!

J: I watched the trailer twice and I didn’t really know what to feel. I was like, okay, yeah, bye. Ugh . . . okay.

RR: I just went and re-watched it. Go Ara is in it for like half a second. Literally.

10
Literally in it for half a second (that’s why the pic is fuzzy)

J: That’s terrible . . . I might end up rooting for a male couple in this case.

RR: Let’s be honest. We really don’t even care whether Go Ara is in this drama or not. You’re here for V and I’m here for Hyungsik.

J: I actually don’t like the characters they’ve set for this drama? V is described as . . . a youthful something, pretty much felt like a little bratty maknae. I’d have to pull up the Drama Beans article.

Hyungsik is described as this: “He’s a lonely soul, not trusting others easily and keeping his true self concealed, making him a sensitive and prickly addition to the Hwarang gang, although he will gradually transform into a strong man and leader.


V is “the maknae of the group who’s described as “fresh and clear like a ray of sunlight.” Resident puppy, check.

(source: http://www.dramabeans.com/2016/04/meet-the-beautiful-knights-of-hwarang-the-beginning)

RR: So basically Baekhyun’s character from Scarlet Heart Ryeo then? And Hyungsik is the description of every Chaebol character ever in the dramaverse then?

3
Hyungsik 
2
V does ‘puppy’ very well.

J: Yes, I think that’s exactly it. Should we also talk about the other characters?

RR: What other characters? ^^

J: Ha! The male lead! Park Seo Joon. There are other guys in there too. Obviously I picked my two biases.

Park Seo-joon playing a character named Moo-myung. (That seems to be a popular naming choice in sageuks, in that it means Nameless and gets to sound cool.) He approaches life with a “you only live once” mentality that gives him the relentlessness of a dog and the free spirit of a bird. (source: http://www.dramabeans.com/2016/04/meet-the-beautiful-knights-of-hwarang-the-beginning)

RR: So basically the description of every male lead ever in the dramaverse? -_- OMG. I’m just still so angry about the hair! Seo Joon’s hair is terrible! Not even close to being as flippy and awesome as Lee Jun Ki’s was in Scarlet Heart Ryeo!

J: You and your hair . . . Hahaha!

RR: No. I’m sorry. Hair is important. It can be a deal breaker. 

5
OMG. What. Is. That. Hair?
8
So this guy is also a main character.
9
Why does Minho look like a travelling gypsy?
11
This is one of the dudes. It’s not the female lead. 

J: I’m trying to find redeeming points about this drama. They destroyed the visuals. The characters created don’t seem that appealing. From the behind-the-scenes, the guys have playful moments, but I don’t find those particularly funny so far. Just awkward. Go Ara and Seo Joon’s chemistry doesn’t seem to be there. They just seem like co-workers based on the behind the scenes footage.

RR: Ugh. It’s totally going to show on screen. The dreaded lack of chemistry situation. I’m also really trying to find redeeming things to say…..but I have nothing. I don’t want to be super critical but….this drama leaves me with no choice.

J: So . . . are we still going to review this drama?

RR: Obviously. Hyungsik is in it. And V.

J: Ugh but every time I see poor V’s hotness get destroyed . . . 😥 My little heart breaks. It’s just like a cute puppy with a horrendous haircut.

7
This is a bonus for Jubiemon 😉

RR: LMAO! I totally see your point!!! It’s so sad. But we have to review this. It’s probably going to be disastrous. It’ll be so much fun!

J: I know. It’s just my internal heart crumbling. I’ll just look at the regular V to let him patch me up. It’s like a confirmation that he’s still very handsome. Yup. And dorky.

RR: All I can say is thank God Hyungsik is in another (better) drama in January with Park Bo Young that will probably redeem him.

J: Let’s just hope that V won’t end up getting the same comments as Baekhyun did. *Crossing fingers*

RR: Ohhhh I don’t know about that….those BTS clips on YouTube of him doing impressions….Hmmm….

J: I actually think he’s better doing like darker/more evil characters. He did better with the Wings trailer where he had to do that evil smirk. I’d be more excited if he were cast in Bad Guys 2. Just saying.

RR: Now that’s a drama worth waiting for!

J: All right, so the conclusion is . . .

RR: Hwarang is going to the dramacourt for review!

Decision: Issue Allowed (Hwarang will get a public trial at the dramacourt).

4 thoughts on “Pre-Trial Drama Conference: Hwarang

  1. Hopefully it will not be a spiraling downward like Moonlovers, but I wish you guys all the best in reviewing this drama. I will just be reading recap unless the drama has good reception. Looking at the posters, the characters description and trailer, I feel like this is going to be another pre-production failure. The clothes is just urgh, and the colours. Costumes wise, I think Joseon period drama is easier for staffs to make beautiful hanboks, as the clothes are pretty much set out? And it seems like Goryeo period costumes can be hit or miss, even though there’s more freedom in choice of clothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really really really want this drama to prove me wrong about pre-production fails and delivery a super awesome script and acting. Based on what we’re seeing now, it’s not looking very promising. It’s such a shame because the actors are all pretty good in their own ways and I hope that they capitalize on that. When you have very high expectations and a standard of quality to meet, it’s more that just fangirling about your actor biases, and needs an objective critique. This is where we are at in terms of this drama! I hope you to read more of your comments in the future! 🙂

      Like

  2. as I’ve been watching Queen Seon Deok and Sadam from a long time,
    Silla’s hairstyle is really complicated,
    It just like that and it doesn’t match a lot of people but that’s how it is,
    it’s like the Qing dynasty hairstyle,

    but then trailer doesn’t mean much for a Kdrama, Moon Lovers is an exception because it aired in China and even Chronicle of Life – cheesy historical dramas have an epic trailer,
    Storm and Prophecy also have epic trailer but overall Chinese dramas always have epic trailer,

    I hope this drama would do well cause Hwarang liked to be mentioned as like the military and supporting story, a drama dedicated for them have so much potential,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment