File No: SHOPPING-KING-LOUIS-EPS-14-15-AND-16

Appearing before the dramacourt: Shopping King Louis Eps 14, 15 and 16

***If this is your first time browsing The Drama Files, please read The Rules section first for our reviewing and rating system***

Issues:

  1. Whether all work retreats should have awkward singing competitions and maze games?
  2. Whether we need villains with some self-awareness of their shortcomings?
  3. Whether the childhood trope was well utilized?

The Rule(s):

  1. Yes. Especially if it involves awkward masks and outdoor tents.
  2. Yes. It’s very nice when they actually admit to their faults and go away.
  3. Yes.

Application:

RedRosette J: Well, I guess this is the end peeps. This is the last post for this drama. All in all, I have no negative things to say because, well, this drama was never intended to be one where you used your brain and it actually kept with this “no-brain” premise to the very end. I loved all the characters and how well they were inter-twined with each being important to the development of the other. I really liked how it was really just a drama about family and love and it really tugged at your heartstrings and made you feel all the warm and fuzzies. Sure, the kidnapping stuff in episode 15 was a bit far-fetched, but I enjoyed the speed dial assassin being a total moron (especially when he gets robbed by Super Grandma). I loved how they ended the show as well; with it being about Louis and Bok Sil getting to solid relationship status. It wasn’t about the marriage and the wedding but about the realization that for two people who were totally alone in the world, that they could depend on each other and have someone to believe in them. I’m not gonna lie, I got a bit teary-eyed. I liked that Grandma died in the end, it had a strong effect on Louis coming into his own and becoming a real adult. I am still of the belief, however, that it should have ended with 12 episodes. It would have made the plot a bit stronger because at times it felt a bit slow and totally filler (episode 14 = all filler).

10
Awww
11
Adorbs!
26
Louis’ version of the Red Long Johns! #adulting

Issue 1: Whether all work retreats should have awkward singing competitions and maze games?

RedRosette J: I’m not really one for weird group activities, but I’d totally do it if it involved this kind of hilarity! I was a total fan of the arm wrestling, jumping rope and the maze game thing to figure out sleeping arrangements. I love how the two people who are not conditioned for the great outdoors ended up outdoors! (Louis and Oska always seem to be awkward roomies!). The drama’s version of The King of Masked Singer was absolute GOLD! I loved the weird masks and the singing and the voting; it was all just great and cute. In terms of the cuteness factor, this drama can do no wrong in my eyes. It was great. The characters all have such a great dynamic. Even Ma Ri.

12
Can these two host their own variety show? Thankx.

Issue 2: Whether we need villains with some self-awareness of their shortcomings?

RedRosette J:  I’m not gonna lie, I did FF most of episode 15. I did want to know what happened, but I could see that they weren’t going to paint the Evil CEO in a totally evil light, so yea. I liked how towards the end, he looked like he just couldn’t take all the lying and the fear of being caught ended up being too much for him. I liked how he was self-reflective of his shortcomings and took steps to own up to his faults. Honestly, I think that that’s an admirable quality; being able to admit when you’re wrong or have made a mistake and then taking active steps to correct it. He was actually the worst villain ever; he barely made it to episode 14 in one piece, but given that we were told that he wasn’t the greatest villain, it wasn’t too disappointing when he ended up confessing to everything. And Louis, the forgiving soul that he is, obviously forgave the guy and everything is all fine and dandy now. [Aside: It is so strange that I have no criticism for this drama…]

14
Worst plan ever.
22
At least you can admit it.
23
This is true repentance.
25
All you gotta do is apologize.

Issue 3: Whether the childhood trope was well utilized?

RedRosette J: I don’t like the childhood trope. It gets overused in dramas a lot. What I did like about it in this case was that there was an indication of the trope earlier on. We knew that “Koboshi” obviously meant Ko Bok Sil and that obviously Louis had met her as a child. That being said, I liked how they made the focus of it around Bok Sil’s parents rather than being solely about Louis and her. It just made it that much more emotional. I think that as a viewer, being told earlier that they might have shared a childhood connection, comes across better, rather than it just suddenly being shoved there in the last episode (like in Cinderella and the Four Knights. Where did that childhood thing come from? It was so sudden and we’re like Okayyy??). So yea, it was well done and not over the top.

37
Rented out the whole movie theater for you. No big deal.
38
There you have it: Koboshi!
39
*sniffles*

All in all, I am huge fan of the show. Kudos to the writers and production team on upping the ante on the cuteness factor.

Here’s a montage of some of my favourite scenes from these episodes:

3
OMG why are you so cute?
4
#swag
5
Chef Louis.
6
LMAO!

And poor Butler Kim:

13
So it turns out that Grandma’s Housekeeper was an 80s gangster.
15
OMG where’s Bok Sil?

18
It’s cool. She’s fine.
19
If he still thinks you’re pretty, it’s true love!
20
Awww
21
LOLZ!
24
How To Catch a Stalker: By Louis and Oska.
28
At the end of the day, they’re really best friends. #goals
32
This is what a world without classism looks like. 
35
This is just a dream sequence. Everyone relax.
36
Cameo by Chae Soo Bin: Bok Sil 2.0

Here’s a montage of Oska’s hideous outfits from episode 16:

Also this finally happened:

Conclusion: Appeal Allowed.

Rating: 5 = KYAH!!!❤ REPLAY. I’m in Love! (Good job everyone! I’m a fan! Especially you Seo In Guk. So much cute man)

40

One thought on “File No: SHOPPING-KING-LOUIS-EPS-14-15-AND-16

Leave a comment