File No: The-K2-EP-15

Appearing before the dramacourt: The K2 EP 15

***If this is your first time browsing The Drama Files, please read The Rules section first for our reviewing and rating system***

Issues:

  1. Whether you need to be dead inside to handle true power?
  2. Whether there should be a limit to being helpless?
  3. Whether being framed for the murder of civilians and being forced to go on the run to avoid testifying at the International Criminal Court is legitimate?
  4. Whether this drama defies medical logic?

The Rule(s):

  1. Yes. I would say that you need to be about 85% dead inside to do it.
  2. Absolutely. At some point, survival instincts kick in and you pretty much end up doing whatever is necessary to survive.
  3. The Criminal Court stuff is legit; the being framed stuff, I’m pretty sure is not legit.
  4. I think so?

Application:

RedRosette J: I must say, I am kind of over this drama now. I want it to end. I’m not invested in the romance, I don’t particularly care for the characters (except Je Ha, but at this point he’s busy bleeding and not doing anything in particular so…) and I’m bored with all the political threats and over the top fighting. That being said, I do want to focus on the quality of the conversation that happened in this episode. It was mostly the big Evils sitting around in threatening situations negotiating, which I can only assume, is how real stuff like this go down. I don’t know. As of November 8th, my worldview has become very warped and I am distrustful and frankly afraid of people in power. Given the recent turn of events in reality, this episode resonated with me in terms of the sheer amount of power and resources available to the big Evils and the collateral damage they could leave in their wake. And don’t even get me started on An Na’s role in this episode. *eye roll* I’m just glad that there’s only one more episode left.

1
Totally cray cray.
10
Can this face become an internet meme already?
2
Ugh I know right? But then again she’s so useless she probably got stuck in the revolving doors at the airport.

Issue 1: Whether you need to be dead inside to handle true power?

RedRosette J: I think you do need to be able to turn off your emotions if you are going to wield a substantial amount of power. So yes, I do think that it requires the person to be largely dead inside, or at least, have the ability to turn it on and off. Yoo Jin ordering the hits on JSS Boss’ grand kids and then ordering him to shoot himself while she sat around and lorded over everyone from her glass box was quite scary. We got to see the worst parts of Yoo Jin’s character (which I think contrasts with her interactions with Je Ha, where we see her almost questioning her choices and approaches). The fact that Kwan Soo is busy ordering kidnappings and laughing about death threats means that he too is well into being completely dead inside (it could be argued that he was way ahead of Yoo Jin in terms of this considering the whole Raniya incident and killing innocents situation). Either way, having too much power is very scary when you look at the effects that it can have on a person. I’m curious to see how the bomb will play out in motivating Uncle CEO’s negotiations when he finds out that it can’t be defused. This part of the episode was very intriguing and I very much liked the maniacal and deranged conversations that everyone was having with each other. Drunk on power much?

3
Everyone is laying their cards on the table.
4
He’s all talk honestly.
5
OMG this guy is batshit crazy.

RedRosette J Sidebar: I knew that Yoo Jin and Se Joon had a very twisted relationship, but today’s conversation really solidified that belief. These two are well into being Bonnie and Clyde with zero interest in how their decisions create collateral damage. At this point, I highly doubt that Se Joon is going to release the contents of the memory card, unless he gets a conscience overnight or his ambition gets zapped away or something.

13
Twisted much?

Issue 2: Whether there should be a limit to being helpless?

RedRosette J:  An Na. Please. Just get hit by truck or something already. There is always a limit to being helpless. I can’t deal with characters like this! OMG. There are situations in life where you are pushed into a corner and where you are totally helpless. This is when your survival instincts kick in and you have a fight or flight response. She has neither. What kind of character is this? Humans respond by either fighting or fleeing. She just stands there like a pathetic rag doll and cries and whines for someone else to save her. OMG. I was so mad when she was all “save me, save me” and Je Ha was all half (literally) dying trying to get to her. OMG. You have feet. Kick them or something. No hostage is that docile. For God’s sake at least try!!! To make matters worse Je Ha is being freakin killed or something at that construction lot, and she has some dramatic realization about the Old Man in the parking lot and starts freaking out while those dudes are busy trying to hunt her down. -_- Really? Girl. Priorities. You’re being chased. Freak out later. Ugh. I just can’t. I’m getting angry just writing this. I hate damsels in distress. I’m sorry. The feminist in me won’t stand for it.

6
Yes. Please. Just go away.
7
Probably. Because she has like two brain cells.
18
Survive first. Freak out later.

Issue 3: Whether being framed for the murder of civilians and being forced to go on the run to avoid testifying at the International Criminal Court is legitimate?

RedRosette J: Given that I took an intro to international law class last year and based on my limited knowledge on it, I can tell you that the International Criminal Court (ICC) is a legit thing (although it’s effectiveness is debatable). The whole framing a witness for the murder of civilians and forcing him to go on the run stuff, I’m like 99.9% sure that that’s illegal. What I did want to mention is that the ICC is not like a regular domestic court of law. You can’t just walk in off the street and decide to start some proceeding. No. There are complex rules about what cases are tried and who can be tried. One of things that Je Ha mentions is the murder of civilians by Blackstone (the private mercs). This is a war crime and sets it right in the jurisdiction of the ICC (meaning that they can investigate and try the matter if need be). This is because the protection of civilian persons in the time of war is contained in international human rights law and is codified in the Geneva Conventions (and it’s also part of the statute that creates the ICC). In order for the ICC to be able to try someone for a war crime, the nationality state of the person has to consent to its jurisdiction (basically they have to say Okay fine, you guys can try him/her) and is followed by a whole bunch of admin stuff. Yea. So that’s some complex stuff. I don’t think that Je Ha’s Blackstone as a group can be tried by the Court because it’s a private corporation and the Court doesn’t try private entities, but the individuals could be subject to a trial and be held liable. But yea the Court stuff is legit to an extent.

Issue 4: Whether this drama defies medical logic?

RedRosette J:  So I’m no medical expert, but based on my experience of being a human being, I know that there is no way in hell that Je Ha could have had serious surgery a few hours earlier and then end up running like crazy, dodging bad guys, fighting off bad guys, driving, being punched in the wound, be hit on the head and be totally fine. There is no way this is logical. OMG. It’s totally ridiculous, but because it is an over the top action drama, I will concede this to the drama. Go forth and continue destroying logic!

22
Don’t mind him, he’s just busy destroying logic.

RedRosette J Aside: I did not see the whole Old Man and JSS Boss Man being involved in An Na’s mom’s death. Kudos show. Here I was thinking the Old Man was just around for office gossip. You one-upped me!

 Conclusion: Appeal Allowed

Rating: 3 = MM. Okay. Fine. (Only because I enjoyed the conversations in this episode)

4 thoughts on “File No: The-K2-EP-15

  1. Thanks for this analysis, I really enjoyed it, I felt like I watched it. You are right about JeHa, from your description of what happened, there is no way anyone can do that. It is Kdrama, and the writer felt anything is possible. I agree on all the points you made about Anna, she is really clueless or brain dead, maybe there are some humans like that. The writer must think so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent commentary on the ICC–thanks for giving your readers this kind of background info not available elsewhere. I’ve been wondering how show will resolve the fact that Je Ha is supposed to be a fugitive. That might put a wrinkle in the Happily Ever After.
      Writer-nim has been hit-or-miss on some of the medical issues in both The K2 and Yong Pal (i.e. the poison in the later episodes of Yong Pal was spot on and researched very well) but the Fentanyl aerosol poison fog scene in Episode 10 is highly suspect. I am probably on some government list after now after all the research I did on that subject, Ha!!
      Je Ha’s super-human ability to fight off all those dudes after surgery was not in the realm of reality, but a fun watch anyways.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment